LASIEC Lagos result: APC wins Ogun chairmanship poll



Candidates of the All Progressives Congress have been declared winners by the Ogun State Independent Electoral Commission. This was in Saturday’s council election, in the 20 local government areas.

The Chairman of the OGSIEC, Babatunde Osibodu added that the total number of votes cast in the chairmanship election in the state’s 20 local government areas was 396, 641. This was while releasing the result on Sunday at the commission’s office in Abeokuta

“The APC won all the chairmanship seats in the 20 local government areas in the state,” he said. Furthermore, he said the results of the elections into the 236 councillorship positions would be released as soon as they were ready.

Participants in the polls included roughly 12 political parties, including Labour Party, New Nigeria Peoples Party, Peoples Democratic Party. A faction of PDP pulled out barely 24 hours to the election.

Nevertheless, the result of the Saturday Lagos State chairmanship and councillorship election in the 57 local government and local council development areas in the state is yet to be officially announced by the Lagos State Independent Electoral Commission.

The LASIEC spokesman, Mr Tope Stephen, says that the electoral umpire was waiting for all the councils to submit their results. He said, “The election result has not been announced, though it is being released in LGA and LCDA offices. The announcement will take place on Tuesday.”




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *